A Struggle to Write

Writing with confidence and ease – my ultimate goal. Yet, my reality is getting lost and confused in my head, and losing track of my original idea. Then panic and struggle overcomes me, and every word I place on the page is… heavy.

The movie The Way We Were just popped into my head. The scene where Katie – Barbra Streisand – works as a waitress in a cafe, and she rushes around taking orders, and then jots down ideas for her class essay. You can see her mind processing ideas as she struggles to find the perfect words to create a passionate piece of writing.

Meanwhile, Hubbell – Robert Redford – writes with no effort, one draft and he is done. Ok, we never actually see him writing, but he never seems to sweat over it. He creates a well-crafted piece of writing. And, of course, his essay is chosen (as the best writing example) to be read out in class. I think the first line of the essay was: “Everything always came easily to him…” I always thought that if I read Hubbell’s essay it would be dull, but well written.

Even though I never read Katie’s essay, I bet it was dripping with sweat, or I mean, passion.

Maybe “struggle” is really passion in disguise. I should call this topic “A Passion to Write”.  Yes, passion is sweaty and messy, like a long run in the rain.

So Katie, I think I’ll continue my writing struggle (aka passion) and write like you. Sorry Hubbell.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

