Reflections on a Glass of Red Wine

Sitting in the Hotel Vancouver’s 900 West Lounge, I order a glass of Burrowing Owl (a Cabernet Sauvignon 2005). The waiter (cute) brings the drinks on a tray. The glass of red stands regal amongst the beer and martini glasses. The glass is placed before me. “Thanks,” I say. Its perfection stares up at me. The anticipation of the first sip is killing me. I want to make this moment last as long as possible.

I do love wine – its colour, smell and soul (does wine have a soul?). But once I’ve had, let’s say 4 sips, I lose the essence of the flavour. But I still keep drinking. I don’t quite appreciate its flavour as much, yet I love how it makes me fell. Relaxed.

Disappointment Follows the First Moment of Any New Experience

There is a pattern to my wants. Everything seems so fantastic for a brief time and then it is old again. Or just boring. I’ve seen it, tasted it, experienced it – so bourgeois. Not bohemian at all. That is what I am trying to fix.

Am I just Talking About Wine?

No. I seem to have that problem with many things I begin doing in my life. Am I a diletante? Never becoming good at any one task? I flit around from one idea, task, skill to another without pushing myself.

Yes, I know, according to Malcolm Gladwell, it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill – can I do it? I will keep trying.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

