A River of Skateboarders

Controlled Casualness

I can hear the sound – like rushing water – but I don’t live beside the water anymore. I can’t figure out the sound. I make my way to the balcony door and I realize there are no cars travelling along the viaduct across from the apartment. Strange, since it’s 4pm on a Thursday, the road should be jammed with cars.

I go out on the deck and see, instead of cars, a line of skateboarders clad in the requisite jeans and t-shirt, helmetless, of course. Hundreds of these “guys” (can’t tell if there are any girls) are floating along the tarmac. It’s strange, because when I hear one skateboarder it’s a harsh sound, but hundreds of boarders create a calming. hum-like sound. The long line of moving bodies is mesmerizing. I stare and then grab my phone to capture a lousy video.

They all seem so casual and free. I find it amazing that no one crashes into each other. They are perfectly spaced as if someone choreographed the ride.

I guess I have always admired the attitude of boarders – cool, casual, confident and determined. Have you ever watched guys practising a jump? They try and try and fall and try again. Maybe they are just bad boarders who need extra determination to nail that jump!

A couple of days later I find out it was “Go Skateboarding Day” – a day to celebrate the joy of skateboarding. Pretty impressive for skateboard “slackers” to organize an event that closes  a city viaduct and brings together hundreds of boarders at a certain time and place. Could they be organized bohemians?

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

