Is there more to Running than Black Toenails?

Yes.

As Larry the Lobster was reminded:

“run, run, Larry run, run for your life!”

I’m not saying I run for my life, but it’s more like I need running in my life. I need it like the cream in my coffee, or like the ketchup on my french fries. But the black toe nails I can do without.

What hasn’t been said about running?

How about running is an excuse to wear a trendy Lululemon outfit? Or how about – running rejuvenates me when I feel tired, lazy and slightly insane.

I got it. A good run is like a slap in the face. It wakes me up and shows me the possibilities of the day.

What would Larry David say?

I seem to be on a “Larry” tangent. I think he would say: “What, run? Why?”

Well, let’s see. I run:

  1. To push myself to a level of discomfort that I didn’t think was possible. The pain of black toenails is like eating glass.
  2. To set a goal of a race. As the Organized Bohemian, running is the embodiment of my philosophy. That is, being organized (prepare body for a specific running goal) and being bohemian (forget all the training and have fun during a race). It’s the perfect blend of structure and release – my favourite combo.
  3. To know my body and not take it for granted. Training my body for a race turns me into a pseudo-Olympic athlete – even though I won’t win the race, I add a dose of competition and intensity to my life.
  4. To motivate me to pursue tough brain challenges (“good” writing). Running is a great motivator. When I see what my body can do, I have more confidence in what my brain can do.

Back to “Larry the Lobster”

I’m rethinking Larry’s predicament. What if I actually had to “run for my life”? What if I were being hunted (Hunger Games style)? Could I outrun my hunters? Yes, I could. It’s a practical skill to be able to run 42.2 kilometres without stopping.

Bohemian Moment

On a perfect Wednesday in September in Vancouver, BC, I’m running along the Stanley Park Seawall – pure pleasure.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
Aside | This entry was posted in Challenges, organized bohemian, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

