‘Chi’ – feeling its sway

(chi = ‘life energy’)

What is ‘life energy’?

Breath? Effort? Will? Ease? A combination of all these elements stirred gently.

‘Chi’ as Applied to Running

That’s been my problem – I haven’t stirred these elements gently. I have been using the word ‘push’ as in ‘push to make my time’, which after reading an article on ‘ChiRunning‘, I understand that it should be banned from my vocabulary. ‘Pushing’ goes against the ‘chi running’ technique of less effort while executing a better running form. Now the word ‘push’ actual slows me down – it makes me feel like I’m moving a grand piano while running.

“ChiRunning” Form

I lean slightlclouds-qc1xy forward, land mid-foot with shoulders relaxed, and imagine my head touching the clouds (what if there are no clouds in the sky?) I feel awkward at first, but the training runs are becoming more relaxing.

Well, I believe that I’m ready for my ‘effortless’ 29 kilometre training run.

29 Kilometre Training Run

Having completed a 29 km training run, today, I can say I felt the ‘chi’ of running. Every time I had a moment of pain, suffering, and the urge to push a grand piano, I readjusted my body position and I felt light and fast. (And listening to Madeleine Peyroux – ‘Dance Me to the End of Love’ – helped smooth out the glitches.)

The Organized Bohemian and ‘Chi’

As the organized bohemian, ‘chi’ has been part of my philosophy all along – ‘effortless effort’.  I use my organized side to get out there and run, while I use my bohemian side to forget I’m organized (aka uptight) and run with ease.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, organized bohemian, philosophy, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

