Boston Anger turns into Marathon Goal

Monday, April 15, 2013: I’m stunned, shocked and nauseous. A bomb going off at the finish line of the Boston Marathon – not possible, mind boggling. I am a blur of thoughts. I have been thinking about running Boston for such a long time and now the goal seems so insignificant. Thinking of the runners expecting to finish a race and hearing an explosion and seeing smoke and blood. I don’t know what I would do. And the cheering spectators holding signs of encouragement – if someone had come to see me and was hurt – I couldn’t bear it.

Tuesday, April 16, 2013 – I don’t feel like running.

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 – Feeling slightly better about running. I am resolved to continue my quest for Boston. I plod through the run this morning, and finish with determination and anger.

I am so sorry for the people, ‘at the wrong place at the wrong time’ – young lives lost for no reason. That makes me the most angry. How does someone decide to do hurt and kill people?

I’m sad.

Vancouver Marathon May 5, 2013

I wasn’t sure if I had the energy to run a Boston qualifying time after losing my spirit. But the day was stunning and the people were cheering and the pace bunny was always within view. I ran with ease and my goal in mind – Boston. I wasn’t going to be afraid or sad. I wasn’t going to let 2 pathetic humans ruin an event that brings out the best in people.

If they had been runners, they would never have done what they did. Whatever frustrations they felt would have been erased with a running goal. Their minds would have been filled with challenge and accomplishment rather than hate and destruction.

I made my Boston qualifying time and if I register successfully, I hope to be in Boston in 2014.

Keep running…

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, organized bohemian, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

