A Cat Sitting on a Tiled Roof

cat-on-roofI find an old postcard (dated 2-11-82) in my box of writing notebooks, and I am on a ferry ride from Naples to the Island of Ischia, Italy. It is a sunny day and the Tyrrhenian Sea is calm.

Ischia, Italy

Black sand. Small tent. Dark clouds. Rain.

Cathy and I pitched our tent on the beach, clouds formed and it poured trapping us in our tent for the night. We drank wine and played cards.

That’s all I remember of Ischia.

This piece of card stock has become an anchor point for my past. Most days are lost – no record remains, but these few days are forever embedded in my mind.

I guess that is why I keep the postcard.

Adding a New Perspective to Life with Travel

The cat seems satisfied sitting on the roof. Looking at the same view, forever. If I could be satisfied with one view of life, then my quest for adventure would be over. Traveling gives me a new perspective on my life and the rest of the world.

Is it a sad image or thoughtful? It makes me think about travel and loneliness. The loneliness of travel when you are away from family for the first time, as this trip was.

The postcard was from Robin, a guy I met on the ferry. I’ve never seen or heard from him since – he was searching for a place to call ‘home’. After leaving Iran, he was constantly on the road. I think of him when I don’t feel settled.

Traveling Encounters

Traveling is a lonely endeavour at times. Meeting people for a brief encounter and then never seeing them again, but they leave an impression on your life forever, and they may send you a postcard.

Coming Home and Appreciating It

Home is a comforting concept. Feeling like you belong somewhere. Wandering too long without a home base can make you tough, and calloused. But knowing you have a home to go to makes you feel free.

I love traveling, but I need to know that I belong somewhere.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, philosophy, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

