Running In a Fog, I found My Glutes

fog

It’s quiet.

I’m alone except for all that lurks in the fog.

A blue heron stands on a rock staring into the fog.

A murder of crows sits along the seawall waiting to pounce on the black mussels on the beach below.

For a moment, I feel sorry for myself (no crying allowed), but then I remember what I’m doing – training for the Boston Marathon. I shake my wrists, turn up Jack Johnson’s, “Shot Reverse Shot”, and keep moving.

A horn sounds.

The outline of a freighter makes its way under the Lions Gate Bridge. Its ghostly form sends out another moan to tell me that it exists. I stop for a moment and watch it float by… when through the fog comes doubt – about my ability, stamina, and perseverance. The nothingness surrounding me is making me think too much. A group of water droplets suspended in air won’t stop me.

Pain in the Hip

Now the day is clear, and I’m rejuvenated (after my fog pep talk) to tackle my 19 km training run. With an effortless cockiness, I pick up my pace, and feel as if I could run forever. Then I feel a pain in my left hip.

I barely finish at 18.34 km and try not to limp home. Upset and depressed, I search “outer hip pain” and find the iliac crest. “Ow.”

I go to my Runners’ World magazine and yoga book. Cause of pain: overuse of and weak gluteus maximus muscles. I look for every stretch and strength exercise I can find.

Obsessed with my glutes, I begin:

  • pigeon pose
  • tailor pose
  • hip hike
  • the clam
  • toy soldier
  • hip lift

I am getting my butt into shape.

Thinking About Glutes

After taking a few days off, I’m out for a short run and not only is the fog back, but there is black ice. Aaaah! I take small, mincing steps and go slowly. Since again, no one is around, I start reciting my mantra: “glutes, glutes, glutes.”

My new best friends, the glutes, are taking me to Boston.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, organized bohemian, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

