NanoWrimo Inspires Once Again

NaNo-2015-Winner_resizedAfter 29 days and fifty thousand words, the first draft of my new novel is safely stored on a C: drive, an external hard drive, and a flash drive – call me technologically  paranoid.

And at the moment, brain drained and feeling askew by the idea of editing, rewriting and reworking. The process must go on… and I ask myself, why? Because I want to give the world something it doesn’t know it needs! (to paraphrase the NanoWrimo tagline)

My blog writing plans evaporated during the month since the energy it took me to write 1,667 words each day made it impossible to focus on any more words, which became immovable, monolithic structures that blocked my thoughts.

Writing flows, then stalls then falls apart, and I wipe it off the floor and continue, because I sold four more books of my first NanoWrimo novel – Growing Iris – this week. And the feeling of having people read my book – and relate, laugh, understand my characters is… motivating.

That’s why I finished another month of pure writing and a first draft of a sequel to Growing Iris.

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Growing Iris, organized bohemian, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

