Marathon du Medoc Costume Dilemma?!?

How to choose and make a costume to run 42.2 kms in September when temperatures can reach 30 degrees?

Colourful, comfortable, and cool are the requirements.

The theme of the 2016 Marathon du Medoc is Tales and Legends – a large category to wade through, but I’ve narrowed it down to a mythical bird creature. Never having run in a costume, I’ve considered a design that keeps with the lightness of a bird, which implies ease of running. Besides, I’ve yet to see a bird breathing hard.

A phoenix rising from the ashes? Too serious for a fun marathon. But a play on a phoenix is from Hindu mythology, the Garuda – part bird and part man – rejuvenated by the sun’s rays each day.  An uplifting thought while running through picturesque, sun drenched vineyards.

garuda_with_shoes

Garuda-esque Runner

The legend reads: Lord Vishnu rode atop the Garuda – while seeking protection from poisonous entities. Garuda saved his mother by retrieving ambrosia from heaven to give to her captors. After returning the ambrosia, he was rewarded with a meal of serpents. His role in Hinduism is protector against poisonous creatures – or evilness.

What do I want to express while running in the vineyards of Medoc? A feeling of invincibility, joy, power…spread my wings and fly – that might help when I’m depleted of all my life force at 37 kms – my usual spot in a marathon where I feel as if I’m plodding through quicksand. Maybe the wind will catch my wings and transport me to the finish line. (I can only hope).

Garuda makes a good contrast to the frivolity of imbibing in fabulous wine and food since I may be feeling evil at the finish line (if I eat the oysters and foie gras) – it should protect me from myself!

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, running, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

