Paris: Petit-Montrouge Running Route

alesia_leclerc_intersection

Intersection: Avenue General Leclerc and Rue d’Alesia

Big city heat greets me at 7am – heavy, still air highlights the smell of sewage, rotting fruit and pastries – it must be Paris!

I turn left along Avenue General Leclerc – passing street cleaners, and cafe waiters aligning chairs, all pointing toward the street for the breakfast crowd.

My shirt clings to my body as I reach the intersection of Rue d’Alesia. Not sure which way to go, I notice a woman in running gear walking down d’Alesia, but I continue along Leclerc until I realize it will not be a pleasant run. I retrace my steps and make my way along the quieter Rue d’Alesia. The air seems fresher and fewer cars pass by. Across the street, I see a golden red glow emanating from a Vienoiserie/Boulangerie

boulangerie

Tempting Patisseries

luring me in for a café noisette and croissant, but I resist.

Since my route is vague, I scan the side streets for an oasis – et voila! – I see a tree- lined path. Turn right. My goal is to reach the end of the trees and turn around. But to my surprise, I reach a wrought-iron fenced park with a sign: Parc Montsouris.

staute

Les Naufrages – Man holding fainting woman

Entering through the gate, I see a paved path that rises and disappears into the lush trees. Assuming it circles around the island of grass, I almost sprint up the hill making my unplanned-adventure run satisfying since I had forgotten about the heat and heavy air as I figured out my route. A great way to train.

A dramatic statue reminds me that I am running in Paris still training for the Marathon du Medoc, which takes place in less than two weeks.

*  *  *

Next stop: Villeneuve-Loubet (a high-speed train ride to the South of France).

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, running, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

