Last Long Training Run before Marathon du Medoc

gare_lyon_train

Gare de Lyon, Paris @ 7am

On the high speed train (SNCF) from Gare de Lyon, Paris to the south of France. Finding the right train car is always a challenge at 7am especially when the ticket (printed at home) is difficult to read. But a helpful French man figures out it’s car 15. We walk/run along the platform beside the sleek blue train and arrive at our car with two minutes to spare – a 4 1/2 hour ride awaits us.

Villenueve-Loubet (12 kms from Nice)

I look out the window from the small cabin in Camping Parc des Mourettes – grey sky hovers replacing blue from the day before. Letting the curtain fall back in place, I see a flash of lightning followed by a rumble of thunder.

It is my last scheduled long run in preparation for the Marathon du Medoc, but I hesitate since getting struck by lightning would put a crimp in the training. But at least it will be cool. The temperature has been hovering over 30 degrees C for the last week and I am almost acclimatized to the heat.

I’m hoping to get to Nice and return.

statue_rainy_day_villeneuve

Statue Telling me To Turn Back?

Downhill from the camping ground, I cross the main road to the train station and then take the under pass metres from the Mediterranean Sea. There is no beach running here – no sand, just small pebbles. I need to make it around the large pyramid-like apartment complex that blocks the sea view. A quick run along the edge of the fast road until I see an entrance through the complex and the red walking path.

bleak_boardwalk

Bleak Boardwalk

The run really begins now that I have no cars to fend off and the lightning has stopped. I pass leisure boats, fishing boats and reach a faux boardwalk hugging the sea. Picking up my pace to outrun the rain,

traffic_run

Complicated Path to Nice

I glide through the towns of Cagnes sur Mer, Cros-de-Cagnes and finally Saint-Laurent-du-Var. I pause, looking for a safe, calm route into Nice.

I quickly discover that the route is too complicated to navigate. I stop and turn around.

It will be another 10 kms back to the campground (plus a hill) – a decent training run (with dry running shoes). Tonight I will sleep well knowing I have completed the last long run before the marathon.

Next stop: Nice by local train (a twenty minute ride).

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, running, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

