Fresh, Freezing, Slippery Run

white_mountains

Snowy North Shore Mountains

Should I go out or not? It’s 1 degree celsius – snow fell the day before, and partially melted, leaving a mess of slippery-slush this morning – that meant a cautious run.

I go for it! The cold jolts me awake – I do the ‘shuffle-slide-run’ until I get my footing. Dirt part of path – fine, make it past tennis courts – tarmac path looks shiny – avoid – run on crunchy grass. Parks Board worker throws salt as I  go by – ‘thank you,’ I say. Continue on crunchy grass – till I make it to the seawall.

Before reaching Second Beach Pool – I hear the honk of Canada Geese – and then a beating of wings – one group of 12 geese leaves the pool, followed by two more groups – each waiting for the next to depart as if they had clearance from the tower. The backdrop of a red tinted sky and white mountains – I braved the cold.

Continue along the wall running on snowy-kelp – crunch, crunch – tossed up on the seawall by huge waves two days before. Shimmy along a mini-ice rink and reach my destination without falling – yay!

The way back is easier since I know where the danger lies. Only encountered three other people on wall – best time to run.

But passing the Ceperley playground, I see the ‘guy-in-the-grey-sleeping bag’ on the picnic table in the covered eating area. I had called the City twice, but here he was again sleeping in freezing temps – I don’t want to read the news about a homeless man freezing to death in his sleeping bag.

“Hey, hello,” I yell at the park ranger scraping the ice off his windshield, “there’s a guy sleeping on the table.”

“Where?”

“Under the shelter in a grey sleeping bag.”

He turned toward the direction I pointed to, hopefully he will help.

I head home – fresh, invigorated and aware of the world around me. That’s why I keep running.

 

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, observations, organized bohemian, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

