Deadline Missed, World Didn’t End…‘Budding Iris’ Awaits Completion

‘The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress.’

Philip Roth

Yes, my second book ‘Budding Iris’ is still a work-in-progress, but not abandoned! I blame my resolve – it stumbles over my blurred premise, which lost focus at the 53,462-word count. Developing an idea generates excitement and energy. Following through, however, generates indifference and angst. But I expected that since my motto for writing: persevere when things get difficult, and finish what I start.

Being a realistic person, I saw a doable goal: get my new book Budding Iris to the proof stage by the end of 2016. Since completing the first draft during NanoWrimo 2015, I had been editing the second draft for about 8 months.

Logic told me that if I announced in a blog that I intended to complete a proof by December 31, 2016 – I would shame myself into doing it – and it almost succeeded. At first, I was disheartened by my setback, then relieved after the deadline had passed and the pressure eased.

Why is it so difficult to extract words from thoughts? Thoughts in my head are pertinent… germane… significant, yet when shaping them into words on the page, they become embarrassing.

When my momentum is lost, I tend to shutdown and feel hopeless, but my stamina has been boosted (by writing this) and I will push on till the end. The burden, or more like the challenge of finishing is budding (clever reference to Budding Iris).

How does one improve except by doing? I keep writing to advance my level of artistry, craftsmanship. I feel stiff and stilted writing this – I can’t quite reveal my truth – I exasperate myself at times. Cultivating a smooth, stimulating writing style – not sure what I mean by that, but I’ll know it when I achieve it.

Also, I want to prove to myself that I can complete my book in less time than my first (2 ½ years) – I have lived long enough with my characters – I am ready to move on!

 

About Organized Bohemian

Dana M. Petric is a writer/landscape gardener/blogger/performer/office temp/web designer. Her wrestle between creative and money-making ventures permeates her writing. Self-publishing her first book, Growing Iris, Dana continues on her path toward writing full-time. Beginning her post-secondary education at UBC (Liberal Arts dropout), she prevailed at George Brown Theatre School (Theatre Arts Diploma) and matured at BCIT (Technical Writing Diploma). She lives in Vancouver, BC with her partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in Challenges, organized bohemian, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

