The CN Tower

The plane circles above the city. I see the famous landmark poking out from the skyline. Tall and elegant – the tower stands at the edge of Lake Ontario. Like the Eiffel Tower in Paris – you know you’re in Toronto as soon as you see it.  

Only a 58 second elevator ride to the 114th floor. I peer down through the glass panels as we glide upward. No effort for us, yet it took 1,537 contractors, 24 hours-a-day, 7-days a week for 40 months to pour the cement! The tallest free-standing structure in the world from 1975 – 2007. And the tallest tower from 2007-2010. Now, it’s just tall.

It’s Tall!

Doors open, we jostle out. Everyone heads to the wrap-around-windows, taking in the view of the city and lake. The sun glistens off the water, tall buildings become miniature models where miniature people rush in and out – I transform into Godzilla wanting to crush anything in my way. It’s the height that’s making me feel all powerful. Actually, I’d rather leap over tall buildings (Superman mode?)and shout: hello Toronto!

I take a breath, calm down and let philosophical thoughts creep in: Why do we climb a mountain or go to the top of a building? Because it’s there? A profound experience? Is it a waste of time? Or something to do on a sunny day? Hmm… all of the above. My eyes wander across the lake, then back to the crowded streets.

As an enthusiastic tourist, I can say proudly – ‘I went up the CN Tower.’ The elevator takes us down, down… my reverie fades.

About Organized Bohemian

The Organized Bohemian is me, D.M. Petric. I write, run, travel, design websites and... self-publish my own books. The Iris Odyssey (a 3-book series). Who's Afraid of Learning Violin? I live in Vancouver, BC with my partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment