Breathe in the Blue Sky

Typical View of Palm Springs

I want to take a glop of sky-blue paint and swoosh it across the top of a canvas – add a swath of toasted caramel hillside, dot it with creamy white big horn sheep, and brush in swaying palm trees – done! I recreate the flawless scene in my mind, breathing it in. Wanting to just hug the surroundings, I sigh, feeling happy, even lucky to be in this beautiful spot.

Ripe grapefruits hang from the tree at the end of the path, oranges on the other side of the yard. I imagine myself floating around the property, like a ghostly apparition, for eternity. Alas, it’s only for a week. But I’ll absorb every moment.

Hiking in the hills at the North end of Palm Springs gives another perspective. Even with easy access at the Lykken Trailhead, there still might be a few excuses not to take a hike. Like coming face to face with a bighorn sheep. (see pic) Ok, he was far away – but I wouldn’t want to meet him up close. (worth climbing for the view!)

Downtown Palm Springs. A massive Marilyn stands in the middle of the street in front of the Art Museum. With her dress flipped up, she flashes her underwear. Her lack of shyness attracts lots of attention. I would say it’s the most fun street in town.

Celebrities began arriving in the 1920s.

Palm Springs became the perfect destination for the ‘two-hour rule’. Hollywood contracts stipulated that stars couldn’t live more than two hours from an L.A. film studio. They were on-call – required to be close by for re-shoots or whatever the studio demanded. The neighbourhood of Las Palmas grew into the destination for the famous and rich.

Never understood the lure of Palm Springs – until now. There is no way to be stressed while taking in the vividness of the setting.

Palm Springs made me forget about the rest of the world for a week.

About Organized Bohemian

The Organized Bohemian is me, D.M. Petric. I write, run, travel, design websites and... self-publish my own books. The Iris Odyssey (a 3-book series). Who's Afraid of Learning Violin? I live in Vancouver, BC with my partner Eric and daughter Cleo.
This entry was posted in organized bohemian, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment